Week 16 in the Office 13-17/06/2022

Week 16 in the Office 13-17/06/2022

I've had a busy week ironing out the latest tweaks on a ticket that has been dragging on for the best part of 6-7 weeks now. The main problems with it have been resolved, it just needs a senior to cast an eye over and do the due diligence. The history of this issue has been drawn out but there were many experiences and lessons learned along the way- both technical and professional. Other than that, it has been meetings and post-meeting documentation (so that I don't ask the same questions) mainly for other colleague's reference. We have this interesting mix of our team members getting involved in less-developer related tasks on other management platforms to support other teams. When I spoke with a colleague she was grateful that we were being pro-active and supportive to the wider organisation, implying that these tasks could be transferred to our team. When I spoke with my team member, there was a feeling of: we are there to help out and be familiar with other platforms but not taking over any tasks long-term. I feel like I have been in this situation before...

The big talking point was the CodeNewbie CodeLand 2022 2 day online conference. This was an amazing, free event where I was inspired by numerous discussions on our industry and where it is headed in the future. I talk more about the event here. Needless to say, these events often provide you more resources to continue your learning, so I'll dedicate some time to these in the future!

Outside of work, I've been continuing on my studies online:

  • CodeCademy: Frontend Engineer Path - JS DOM manipulation. I was doing a Frontend Mentor Challenge (check it out here) and it required client-side form validation and DOM manipulation. I thought I was knowledgeable in these topics but the project took way longer than predicted. Hence the revisit to the fundamental concepts.

  • Youtube: Brad Traversy's PHP beginner course with XAMPP stack. This 3hr course I'm hoping will give me that foundational knowledge in PHP which I've been missing when I'm at work in the Drupal ecosystem.

  • Drupalize.me has loads of video and text-based lessons to help you get familiar with its inner workings. Recently, I've been focussing on twig theming and I also want to start their PHP mini-course.